Who voted for and who voted against Kosovo's membership in the EC?

Headquarters of Council fo Europe
 Headquarters of Council fo Europe
 The Ministerial Committee of the Council of Europe (CE) approved on Monday Kosovo's request to join this organization.

Kosovo's Ambassador to Brussels, Agron Bajrami, announced that the decision was made with 33 votes in favor, 7 against, and 5 abstentions, while one country did not vote at all.

Ambassador Bajrami also revealed how the member states of the Council of Europe voted. Surprisingly, Hungary, which has recognized the state of Kosovo, voted against it. Greece and Slovakia, two of the five European Union countries that have not recognized Kosovo's independence, abstained, while the other three (Spain, Romania, and Cyprus) voted against it.

It goes without saying that Serbia voted against Kosovo's membership in the Council of Europe. Besides Serbia, Georgia and Azerbaijan also voted against it.

The following countries voted in favor of Kosovo's membership: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United Kingdom.

The following countries voted against Kosovo's membership: Hungary, Spain, Romania, Cyprus, Georgia, Azerbaijan, and Serbia.

The following countries abstained: Greece, Slovakia, Ukraine, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Armenia did not participate in the vote at all.
Previous Post Next Post